Remembrance is Mandatory

It seems that everywhere I go, I have been constantly reminded of this one word, remember. Everyday, I have some assignment to be doing or some activity that I have to get to, yet remembering those things does not get remember out of my head… there is something more that I am missing.

A couple of Tuesdays ago, I sat in the front row of a church, right in front of the communion table, which had raised letters that read, “Do This in Remembrance of Me.” I have seen that same phrase every Tuesday night and been reminded of it every single time that I participate in communion. Yet, for some reason, I have isolated those times of “remembrance” to church services, FCA, or Bible Camp. But God has been placing the word remember on my heart every day, because He has entrusted to me the ministry to remember and to bring those around me to remembrance of the hope we have been given by an awesome Savior. Jesus was resurrected on a Sunday, but He lived every day for His Father and for the ministry of the weak, broken, and destitute. If I truly profess to remember Jesus’ sacrifice, them remembrance of Him would show through everything I do, not just the times when I eat a little wafer and drink a sip of grape juice. Communion is a blessed reminder of what God has done, how Christ’s blood was spilled and His body was broken to give us life, but He died to cleanse us and heal us for the ministry that we must face every single day.

… How often are our earthly lives injured when we forget one little thing? I forgot to take out the trash. I forgot that we needed milk. I forgot to pay that bill. I forgot to take care of the dogs. I forgot to take that left turn at Albuquerque. Forgetfulness can be extremely detrimental to our earthly lives, but imagine what it would be like to forget the eternal things. Judas Iscariot, distracted by either power, money, pride, or a combination of all three, allowed himself to give into temptation and betray his Lord. Do you think Judas was truly malicious in betraying Jesus? Maybe he thought that the chief priests and Jewish leaders would just beat Jesus and make an example of Him. But no matter what would happen to Jesus, Judas betrayed Him for less than pride and more than money, and he only received pain and death. Judas forgot every single word that Jesus had ever said and every act of kindness and wisdom that Jesus ever performed; Judas chose to believe in himself and betray the One Who washed His feet…

bound-with-chains-of-the-spirit-and-of-men11

The modern-day follower of Christ still has every advantage that Judas had. Though we cannot walk with Jesus or touch His scars, yet we can read His Words at any time and touch the grieving through the power of His Holy Spirit. But even now, too many have forgotten. Those who once proclaimed themselves to be found, healed, and freed, have returned to their chains, their scars, and their wanderings. Whether due to power, money, dispute, lust, pride, or tragedy, these men and women have turned their backs on God; betraying Christ and choosing to believe in themselves. I can understand how some people would lose faith, but when they lose faith, they add sorrow upon sorrow. When I remember God’s promises and all the times of His faithfulness to me, I am given no excuse to give in or lose heart. Christ cameto preach the gospel to the poor, to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised” (Luke 4:18, Isaiah 61:1). It is a tragedy when the broken and lost run further and further away from their only hope. “Jesus said unto him, ‘I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man comes unto the Father, but by Me.'” (John 14:6).

Again and again, Jesus calls men and women to repentance, that they may find rest for their souls… but they forget to remember. They forget to read God’s Word and to listen when He speaks. They forget that they need to follow God’s Word; chastisement and harsh truths are not just for those “weak” in their faith, it is for all the children of God. “For you have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but you have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, ‘Abba, Father.’ The Spirit itself bears witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: and if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with Him, that we may be also glorified together.” (Romans 8:15-17). Know that when you have committed your life to Christ, you are a son or daughter of God. Therefore patiently and righteously endure the trials of this world, because you know that your inheritance waits, and your Father and King watches over you until that time.

“Wherefore, my beloved, as you always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. For it is God which works in you both to will and to do of His good pleasure” (Philippians 2:12-13). In order to obey, we must remember what God has done. In order to work through our salvation, we must remember the life we were called out of and the life that we are called unto. And above all, we must remember that God is creating a good work in us: His heirs. Are we letting ourselves and our own desires get in the way of God’s ministry? Are we betraying Christ and our Father; causing Him to suffer just so that we can give into temptation?

Sin enslaves so many hearts, but let the sons and daughters of God not be so enslaved, because we remember what God has promised. “Wherefore let him that think he stands take heed lest he fall. There has no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” (1 Corinthians 10:12-13). “These things I have spoken unto you, that in Me you might have peace. In the world you will have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33).

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not His Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through Him might be saved. He that believes on Him is not condemned: but he that believes not is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God. And this is the condemnation, that Light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than Light, because their deeds were evil. For every one that does evil hates the Light, neither comes to the Light, lest his deeds should be reproved. But he that does truth comes to the Light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God. John 3:16-21

For many people, past sins and shame still causes their vision to blur, yet if they follow Christ, then that blurred vision is filled with Light, Love, and forgiveness. When we remember who we were, we can remember who God is, how He brought us out of darkness and into His marvelous Light, and how He continues to save us from the world every day.

I call each one of you, as I call myself, to remember the One Who made you and to step into His light. Love the Light. Let your deeds be clearly seen by everyone, because they are no longer defined by self-service, but by the love of your Father Who is preparing a place for you in Heaven.

 chains-broken

If you have questions for me, topics you want me to write about, or you just want to chat, then send me an email or post a message on any of my pages.

Email: blindinsanityblog@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/blindinsanityblog/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sarahjozech4.6/

Live in Remembrance…

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Victorious StrugglesTags, , , , , , , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Remembrance is Mandatory”

Leave a Reply

