Ready, Set, Ready

Subtle

This road has not been kind. Innocence was stripped from body and mind. The world crept in and robbed me blind. But it’s not as though I couldn’t hear it coming, as subtle as an elephant in the room, running; pounding at my heart, drawing me into the dark and I gave in from the very start…. I chose to lick the dust, giving into my lust, and I was left covered in blood. Most of this was by choice, but sometimes I didn’t have a voice; I had no control of the hands that destroyed. How could I ever be loved? How could these eyes look up? It would be a crime to live above… Lies.

This one still hits pretty hard… But where sin abounds, grace abounds even more, and I am flooded with such love and tender care. Though rightful shame of my sin stripps me of all pretense to boast, I suddenly find that grace steps in to show me how my boasting was foolish from the start. There was sin in me before I fell, but the fall finally made it clear, like a sore behind after an earned reproof. So, where sin abounded, grace abounded more and stripped me of my pride, and then stripped me of my shame when my Savior saw my sorrow and broken heart and chose to heal me again.
I will always marvel at the wondrous grace of God.

These doubts are found empty, wanting, just like the grave to where John was running. Could I keep Jesus in the grave? Do I claim power to condemn, power to save? No! Then why do I still live like a slave, when Christ is raised? The chains of sin and death were shattered at Jesus’ breath! So, I speak His name, casting aside sin and shame; those whom the Son sets free are free indeed. My Father has watered the Holy Spirit-planted seed and He continues to provide for my every need. I am an heir of King and crown, no earthly treasure compares to what I’ve found. Life eternal, love unmeasured; glories that are greater than these worldly pleasures. I live in Christ, and in Him abide. Though all around my soul gives way, Jesus alone is my hope and stay.

Believe me, I know how life gets hard. Sin comes in and makes us fall, as though we’ve hit a wall; unable to climb, we choose to crawl. But what does it matter the height of the wall when flight has been God’s plan all along? Mount up on wings as eagles; fight for deliverance of God’s chosen people. Each soul, Christ came to save, but too many now abide in the grave. Cry out for the sleeping to awake, for it is now daybreak. The Son will rise again, and darkness give way, but will you be ready?

This still hits pretty hard… But where sin abounds, grace abounds even more, and I am flooded with such love and tender care. Though rightful shame of my sin stripps me of all pretense to boast, I suddenly find that grace steps in to show me how my boasting was foolish from the start. There was sin in me before I fell, but the fall finally made it clear, like a sore behind after an earned reproof. So, where sin abounded, grace abounded more and stripped me of my pride, and then stripped me of my shame when my Savior saw my sorrow and broken heart and chose to heal me again.

I will always marvel at the wondrous grace of God.

(The last section was added on March 12, 2016)

If you have questions for me, topics you want me to write about, or you just want to chat, then send me an email or post a message on any of my pages.

Email: blindinsanityblog@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/blindinsanityblog/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sarahjozech4.6/

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and Wonder, Victorious StrugglesTags, , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Ready, Set, Ready”

Leave a Reply

