I Run for Food

-

On my walk/jog yesterday, when I was about half-way home, I thought of what I would eat for dinner: maybe I could have some IHOP, a PB&J, or just some plain Hawaiian bread… It seems sort of ironic that I was thinking about what I would be eating even as I was running, walking, and sweating off the cookies I had earlier that day. Well, yes, some people might find it a little strange… though not some YouTubers… but it comforted me to think of what reward I would receive at the end of the road. Seriously, I needed to eat something, so wasn’t it important to think about that as the miles very slowly flew by? I couldn’t just close my eyes, walk into the kitchen, and eat whatever I happened to touch… some things in my kitchen are not edible. Well, I guess I could have done that; I know where everything is, so what would I need my eyes open for? But put yourself in my shoes, except you had to blindly eat whatever you touched in MY kitchen, not yours. Um, you probably wouldn’t want to do that. Instead, you would want to consider what you would be eating and have your eyes open, so that you could take the necessary steps to achieving that food goal. Well, that is exactly what I was doing as I was running and exactly what I desire to do in my spiritual life…

While I am living and working out my faith, I want to consider the end of my life’s road… I HAVE to consider the end of this road. By the grace of God alone, I have considered my final destination and I have chosen to believe in Christ; professing in the power of His blood to cover my sin. I am bound to an eternity with Christ. I know where these steps will eventually lead and my eyes are wide open. I no longer walk blindly into eternity. Christ is bringing me to His rest and what I do along the way to Heaven does matter. Yet again, as I am running, working, and believing, I am reminded that this road I travel on is not the end. The ultimate “end” is eternal life with my Savior in Heaven. So, I have to be prepared for Heaven and for the great Supper of the Lamb.1 I also want to consider that feast as I work out my faith here on earth. I consider how delicious the food of Heaven will be and how I won’t be sitting alone at that feast, but I will be sitting with my brothers and sisters in Christ; being surrounded by those who loved not their lives unto the death.2 None of the family sitting with me at God’s table would have gone blindly into their eternity. They knew the food that they would taste and, while on earth, they groaned for Heaven, to be in the presence of their Savior.3

While I was working out, there was definitely groaning going on at some points, and questions of whether it was all worth it. I even considered taking shortcuts, but I didn’t. For some reason, I went the whole route that I had planned, because I ultimately was not defining my life by how far I had to run, but by the reward at the end of that road. Yeah, I was thinking about food, but I was also thinking about how I will be getting in better shape, so that I can eat even better food without so much guilt… Someday, I will eat at my Master’s table, and if I run this spiritual race with endurance and purpose, then perhaps some of my personally inflicted shame will wash away with my sweat, instead of with tears in Heaven. No, I am not thinking that I can earn my salvation. I know that Christ does not place shame or guilt upon me, because He has forgiven me. But I feel that, when I stand in the presence of God, I will be reminded of how unworthy I am to stand in His presence. I will most likely still cry like crazy, but those tears will turn into tears of joy when I look in the eyes of my Savior and He says, “Well done, good and faithful servant…”4 Even reading that statement now gives me goose bumps and brings tears to my eyes. That Jesus would look upon me and say, “Well done, good and faithful servant” still overwhelms me and brings me such a feeling of contentment and bewilderment. The truth is, I have not always been faithful, and there were probably multiple times today when I have not been faithful, yet Jesus still called me out of darkness and to the light of His countenance.

So, I think of Heaven, how the food at my Master’s table will be delicious, the water will be sweet and pure, and I won’t have to work out anymore. Until that time, however, I must keep running, knowing that this is what God has called me to. Amen.

Turn My Eyes to Heaven

Know you not that they which run in a race run all, but one receives the prize? So run, that you may obtain. And every man that strives for the mastery is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown, but we an incorruptible. I therefore so run, not as uncertainly. So fight I, not as one that beats the air. But I keep under my body and bring it into subjection, lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway. 2 Corinthians 9:24-27

Inspirations/References
1. Revelation 19:9
2. Revelation 12:11
3. 1 Corinthians 5:1-5
4. Matthew 25:21
5. John 15:5

If you have questions for me, topics you want me to write about, or you just want to chat, then send me an email or post a message on any of my pages.

Email: blindinsanityblog@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/blindinsanityblog/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sarahjozech4.6/

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Victorious StrugglesTags, , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “I Run for Food”

Leave a Reply

