Consumed by Grace… Because Jesus Prayed

You prayed for me before I took a breath1… when You knew I would choose death. Though You knew Your fate, how for my sins You would pay, yet You still prayed. Thank You, Jesus, for loving me when You knew I would refuse to bend my knee. For some reason, You blessed me as You hung upon that cross. Your heart was literally poured out for me… for the lost. You said, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.”2 … For those Words, I am eternally indebted to You.

But Abba, as You prayed, I was deep in sleep. The world around me was less than a dream. I wish I could say I was gently woken, but into my dreams You came crashing in. “Awake! Awake, oh sleeper and arise from the dead!”3 I snapped to attention, despite my bruised head. As I fixed my eyes on the breaker of my dream, I understood why You had to wake me so suddenly. You formed my members, when as yet there were none.4 You didn’t create me to die or to live without the Son. You made me to run, to soar on wings like eagles.5 You called me to purity, to serve as a beacon on a hill.6 But sleep was consuming my eternity and only You could set me free.

Please, Jesus, help me fully consider my steps. Let wisdom light my eyes and give me rest.3 For as I consider my life through Truth, I know that all I need is You. This world will cry and try to tear me apart, but You, O Lord, hold my wandering heart.  I never wish to be called a silly women, led astray by emotional whims,7 but I want to be led by the One Whose image I desire to reflect; the One Who came to my defense when the world had stones in their hands8

I bring to You my alabaster box9; the one You gave me, the one You unlocked. Without You, I would be nothing; my life would be a shadow of something I could never grasp, seeking after love that burns into nothing but ash. I would have been left empty on the floor, too weak to even answer the door. But Jesus, You saw me in my weakness, when this heart was prone to give in, and You blessed me with strength to resist… So, this heart, weak as it is, I pour out to You. I know this heart itself is a gift. I didn’t earn the chance to live. So, as the flesh in my heart is taken away, I pray Your Holy Spirit would fill me. Consume me with Your glory and let this little light shine through into eternity.

Upon my birth, I was bitten by a snake. I possessed a sinner’s heart and of sin I did partake. I walked around as a dead man, not even caring that these hands offended my Creator and picked fruit that would lead me to pain and dishonor the Master Potter. But I hung a crimson cord at the window of my heart,10 and though walls crumbled ‘round me, You came through the open door; rescuing me from self-inflicted scars. So, I submit myself to Your design. Abba, help me redeem the time.3 I feel like ages have swiftly passed and I can’t catch up to where I was last. But You know where I should be and where I am going. Though I can’t see the wind, I am so grateful to feel it blowing. Every bone and sinew within this body is changed. With every whisper and every Word, I am more consumed by grace.

Who I was before is dead and gone. I am crucified with Christ, yet I live on.11 I live by faith in the Son of God, because I know it is me He loves. Why would my Creator pay the price for my sin? Because, had He not, I would never have known Him. I would have perished in my transgressions, eternally separated. But Jesus loved me too much to leave me without hope, and that love carried Him to the cross. For my sin, He laid down His life. For my life, He rose again. His love guaranteed His promise would never be broken. No, it was not anything I had done, and even now I do not have the capacity to love. But by the grace of God, I am made sufficient to the task. I live today because God did not let that cup pass from His only begotten Son.12 I thrive today because Jesus goes with me, preserving the broken child that finally bent her knees.

Jesus, thank You for praying; every day, I feel and see Your many blessings… And I am not the only one; for this I eternally praise Your name. You have preserved a kingdom of the lost and found. My brothers and sisters sing Hallelujah to the trumpet sound. We praise the King Who reigns up in the clouds, and rains upon His children to bring fruit from dry ground. Even so, come, Lord Jesus. Amen and Amen.

Just as I am, without one plea, but that Thy blood was shed for me, and that Thou bid’st me come to Thee.
O Lamb of God, I come! I come!
Just as I am, and waiting not to rid my soul of one dark blot; to Thee whose blood can cleanse each spot,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!
Just as I am, though tossed about with many a conflict, many a doubt; fightings within, and fears without,
Lamb of God, I come, I come!
Just as I am, poor, wretched, blind; sight, riches, healing of the mind; yes, all I need, in Thee to find,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!
Just as I am, Thou wilt receive, wilt welcome, pardon, cleanse, relieve; because Thy promise I believe,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!
Just as I am, Thy love unknown has broken every barrier down; now, to be Thine, yea, Thine alone,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!13

Inspirations/References:

  1. John 17
  2. Luke 23:34
  3. Ephesians 5
  4. Psalm 139:16
  5. Isaiah 40:31
  6. Matthew 5:14
  7. 2 Timothy 3:6
  8. John 8:7
  9. Luke 7:37
  10. Joshua 2
  11. Galatians 2
  12. Mark 14:36
  13. Just as I Am by Charlotte Elliott

If you have questions for me, topics you want me to write about, or you just want to chat, then send me an email or post a message on any of my pages.

Email: blindinsanityblog@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/blindinsanityblog/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sarahjozech4.6/

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and WonderTags, , , , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Consumed by Grace… Because Jesus Prayed”

Leave a Reply

