Don’t Concede to Grieve, Just Read

I have missed out.

My lazy hands and drifting mind have kept me from sitting down, from taking time.

Instead of giving my burdens to my Rest, I have been carrying them on my shoulders. And instead of seeing how I am blessed, I have been reminded of what I can never have.

What is the reason for my current state? … I have chosen not to pray and not to read the Word God has given to me. Don’t mistake me, I pray before I eat, I pray before I sleep, I pray for my friends, I pray with my family, I pray for random things… But in all my prayers, I never stopped to listen to Jesus speak or to pray through the Word He wrote for me.

Jesus says in Matthew 11; Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you, and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy, and My burden is lightTake My yoke. Learn from Me. But how can I do those things without listening to Jesus speak? How can I do what He commands when I don’t stop and read?

I am slowly fighting to unclog these ears, even as Satan keeps preying on my fears.

For too long, my mind has been allowed to drift without the anchor of the Word, so seeds have been planted that only many Words will be able to unearth. My mind has not been fixed on Christ, so it turned to the world to satisfy. The fact is, the world can never satisfy my needs; it only leaves me feeling lonely, empty. I am like a bottle in the smoke, refusing to open up to the dirt, clinging to the purity in my heart.1 But I have been holding on for so long, without feeling the warmth of my Savior’s arms. Only today, God rewarded my open ears and led me to Isaiah 22:23-26:

And I will fasten Him as a nail in a sure place and He will be for a glorious throne to His Father’s house. And they will hang upon Him all the glory of His Father’s house, the offspring and the issue, all vessels of small quantity, from the vessels of cups, even to all the vessels of flagons. “In that day,” says the LORD of hosts, “will the nail that is fastened in the sure place be removed, and be cut down, and fall; and the burden that was upon it will be cut off: for the LORD has spoken it.”

Truth is, I don’t completely understand that whole passage, but my heart was broken by the last verse. Within that verse, I saw my sins nailed upon my Savior, and those sins that once held me in bondage were cut down and the burden was cut off. And in other scriptures, God’s children are compared to vessels, so to picture that God gave every single human being of this planet to Jesus is beautiful to me. I know that some vessels will perish in fire, but some have chosen to be cleansed… and by the grace of God, I have been cleansed.2

Upon my Savior was hung all the glory of His Father’s house, yet He chose to live in human flesh and experience the weaknesses of His creation. My Creator loved me and all His creation so much that He put aside His untouchable glory to have hands that could touch, heal, and ultimately be pierced through for the sake of His lost and blind creation. My Yeshua is so good to me and His power is so great that even His death was not the end. He took my sins upon Himself on the cross, then my sins were buried with Him in the grave, and finally, He arose from the dead; leaving those sins and the eternal punishment for them in Hell.

Now, because of all that Christ has done for me, I am free.

Still, that was not the end. Jesus has left for me His Holy Spirit as a comfort and guide… and He left for me His Word as an example of the flesh that it depicts.

This morning, I was just considering the power of God’s Word. I do not worship the Scriptures, but I worship the Word made flesh Who instilled into His very Words the power to heal, soothe, restore, and renew.

Today, I have felt the power of God’s Word and the truth of Hebrews 4:12-13; For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart. And no creature is hidden from His sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of Him to Whom we must give account.

The Word of the Creator God has washed over me. Though I feel like I ask so many questions, yet His Word continues to cut deep into my soul to reveal my need for Christ and His holiness. Before my Savior, I cannot hide. Thousands of years before I even came to be, these Words were written about me and for me. I am overwhelmed at the grace and plan of my Savior. He went to such lengths for His beloved and He still does; calling me back from my deafness, doubt, and loneliness.

Every day, I face little battles. Sometimes, the battles seem overwhelming, but when they are faced with Christ as my banner, they will never be worthless.

I do not lose heart. Though my outer self is wasting away, my inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for me an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as I look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are not seen. For the things that are seen are temporal, but the things that are not seen are eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:16-18) In all these things we are more than conquerors through Him Who loved us. (Romans 8:37)

Jehovah Jireh, thank You for providing so faithfully. I pray that my friends and family may feel Your arms wrapped around them today. Open to them Your Word and reveal to them the light of Your truth. Cut through their walls and fears as You have cut through mine. Abba, I know that You have not given Your creation a spirit of fear, but of power, and of love, and of sound mind.3 Please humble Your children and the ones living as orphans. May they read Your Word, bow before You, and be renewed in the presence of Your glory and grace. Make us a holy generation, set apart as a unique treasure that shines for You alone. Amen and Amen.

For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people; training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age; waiting for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ. He gave Himself for us to redeem us from all lawlessness and to purify for Himself a people set apart, zealous for good works. Titus 2:11-14

References/Inspirations
1. Psalm 119:83
2. 2 Timothy 2:20-21
3. 1 Timothy 1:7

11200822_10206435862193880_622596364649611862_n

If you have questions for me, topics you want me to write about, or you just want to chat, then send me an email or post a message on any of my pages.

Email: blindinsanityblog@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/blindinsanityblog/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sarahjozech4.6/

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Victorious StrugglesTags, , , , , , , , , 3 Comments

3 thoughts on “Don’t Concede to Grieve, Just Read”

Leave a Reply

