A Blessed Wreck

DSC_0712
Singing Man of Sorrows wrecks me every time (I sing it with the melody from Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen).

Verse 1: “‘Man of sorrows,’” what a name / for the Son of God who came; / ruined sinners to reclaim: Hallelujah.”

The only One Who could have lived for eternity without sorrows chose to take sorrow upon Himself for me; ME, a ruined sinner, so lost in sin and broken by sin. Jesus chose to come and rescue ME. And more than just rescuing me from an eternity in hell, He rescued me from my slavery to sin here on earth. I don’t have to sin anymore. I still do, but by the grace of God, those sins are becoming rarer as I draw closer to Jesus. The Holy Spirit of my Abba has made that so.

Verse 3: “Guilty, helpless, lost was I; / blameless Lamb of God was Christ, / sacrificed to give me life: Hallelujah.”

(Are those the original words? No. I changed them to be an echo of my own heart’s cry.)

Not only did Jesus give me a marvelous gift by laying down His own life, but He also proclaimed for the whole world to hear, “It is finished!” There was nothing more that could be done. Only Christ, for sin, could atone; being far greater than a sacrificial lamb or all of the religious traditions of men. Faith, instead of law, is now the banner that God’s children raise before them. Faith makes a man righteous and the strength of the Holy Spirit causes all those who walk by faith to be more conformed to the image of the Son. That is the purpose of the Holy Spirit: to glorify the Son. And as believers are one in the Spirit, they are one in the Lord, fit and made able to glorify the King. (1 Corinthians 6:17)

Verse 5: “When You come, my glorious King, / all Your ransomed home to bring, / then anew this song I’ll sing: Hallelujah.”

Let the undeserving, unworthy, broken, and ugly come and stand before the King. Before His light and His glory, all of the dirt and filth of their self-proclaimed righteousness is revealed. But I know that, for me, Christ will step forward and say, “This one’s with me.” Though I was covered in blood, His touch washed away the ugly stains… What a Savior!

Though What a Savior only has five verses, I wrote a final verse:

Verse 6: “The earth will shake and darkness flee / When my Savior comes back for me / And with the angels I will sing: Hallelujah!”

On earth, I have been given grace upon grace. If I should suffer for my faith or even die, I count everything as loss for the cross of Christ. He has given me the air I breathe and I owe unto Him everything. By His death, He crushed the weight of my sin; by His resurrection, those sins will be eternally buried. Amen!

Dear Jesus, thank You for being faithful, even when I have not been faithful to You. Your light overwhelms me and comforts me all at the same time. I pray that this faith You have given me will stand no matter the storm; no matter the temptation or trial. All that I am is Yours, Lord. “Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Hallelujah, What a Savior!” Amen!

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and WonderTags, , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “A Blessed Wreck”

Leave a Reply

