Grace in the Storm

This was thought on my heart after walking for three hours last Saturday and distributing fliers for Vacation Bible School.

How deep is Your love for each one of us, Abba! How wondrous Your grace! You have brought me to this place of brokenness by steps of faith. When my feet grew weary and my heart was emptied, You came to fill me with Your glory and strength. And brought to mind the words You said; How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him who brings good news, who publishes peace; who brings good news of happiness, who publishes salvation; who says to Zion, “Your God reigns.” (Isaiah 52:7)

In faith, I should walk, run, and stand; even to the point of exhaustion. My weariness in the flesh brings Good News to the lost; a small price to pay. Though selfishness and a desire for comfort are the cries of this flesh, yet the Holy Spirit tells me that life is wasted if I seek my own and never seek the glory and kingdom of my Heavenly Father.1 So many children, young and old, live in a lost eternity. I stand within eternity. Though I am now locked in skin and chained by bones, my spirit and soul have been freed from the slavery of sin. This flesh is fading, but my soul is secured… So how can I walk, run, and stand in silence, when I have the Good News within my hands; within my heart?

Dear Jesus, let Your kingdom come, let Your will be done,2 and may all the lost find their refuge, salvation, strength, comfort, and purpose in the shadow of Your wings.3

Thank You for being so good and patient with Your creation.

Only today, I saw Your grace in a picture of a rainbow spanning the sky next to a tornado. No lives were lost due to that twister, only property was destroyed. You have promised to show grace and mercy to Your creation,4 but You have not promised justice will not be carried out. We have turned our eyes from Your face and thought You turned Your face from us, but You cannot close Your eyes and Your ears to the cries of Your saints.5 The faith that they stand upon has been attacked by those who seek to be justified. But, oh LORD, in Your sight, none are justified.6 Only those covered by the blood of the Lamb have received the grace to stand in the presence of their King without being destroyed.7 I do not deserve such grace, but I thank You that You have called me out of darkness and into Your light. I am not perfect, and I have felt Your justice upon my life here, yet I have also felt Your grace; Your hand lifting my face. I am Your daughter, an heir of the Kingdom.8 But as Your daughter, I also have a cross to bear.1 My flesh wars against my spirit;9 not desiring holiness, but a life of selfishness and pride. Jesus, please place within me a holy desire. I stand beneath Your rainbow and trust that, even if all I own is demolished, I have been washed in Your cleansing flood.

Make me holy. Make me strong. Redeem the time for me, because I am barely holding on. Your love is beyond me, Your love breaks me, and Your love lifts me to the heights of the heavens. Jehovah Jireh, Jehovah Rapha, Jehovah Nissi; You provide, heal, and, as a banner, go before me. Whom or what shall I fear; for what can man do unto me?10 You are terrible in Your strength and consuming in Your grace.11 I am glad to be lost in You, because I know Your voice and I follow Your truth.12 I love You, Jesus.

Amen.

Photo courtesy of Brad C.
Photo courtesy of Brad Crank

Inspirations/References_______________________

  1. Matthew 16:24-27
  2. Matthew 6:10
  3. Psalm 36:7
  4. Genesis 9:13-17
  5. Psalm 145:18-20
  6. Galatians 3:11, Romans 3:20, Psalm 143:2
  7. Revelation 12:10-11
  8. Romans 8:17
  9. Galatians 5:17, Romans 7:21-25
  10. Psalm 56:4, 11; Psalm 118:6; Hebrews 13:6
  11. Nehemiah 9:30-31
  12. John 10:27
Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and Wonder, Victorious StrugglesTags, , , , , , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Grace in the Storm”

Leave a Reply

