Do You Hear Heaven Calling?

Were You There?

Were you there? Were you there?

Before His time had come,
From His brow blood had run.
He saw His destiny, to drink from this cup;
His pain, eternal; knowing His life He must give up.1

He was all alone until an angel came to comfort His soul,
But He knew the price for love, to make the broken whole.
Through His curse would be born an eternal blessing,2
And for this He stayed upon the cross, to God attesting:
“It is finished, My body and blood not held back.3
With My Father as witness, there is nothing that I lack.”

A sacrifice, perfect and holy,
Served as the last, the One and only.
Atonement is no longer found in sheep’s blood,
But in the blood of Jesus: a cleansing flood.4

Upon that cursed cross, I see what should be my brokenness;
A Savior torn and scarred, because His law, I did transgress.
Jesus took my pain, hanging upon that glorious cross.
His pain; the sins of my hands, my feet, and my mind, so lost.
Beyond recognition was the face of love.
His glory, His crown; He chose to give up.5

Look upon the face of God,
On Calvary He hung… for grace, for love.
Jesus became a curse for us,
To act as mediator between us and God.6

By death our Lord was crushed,
Laying down His deity for us: for dust,
Now upon this Rock, I fall, broken,7
Because death was defeated and Heaven opened.

The closed tomb in which our Savior did lay
Served as a reminder of the finality of the grave.8
But when Jesus arose, He claimed victory of sin and death.
Nothing could hold Him down, He took back His breath.
And by His grace, all flesh can be made new.9
By His blood, a broken path is made straight and true.
Amen and Amen.

Amen and Amen.

I wrote this poem in April of 2013. At the time, I was inspired by a novel called The Robe by Lloyd C. Douglas. To this day, that book inspires me, and perhaps it served as a type of inspiration for my blog itself. The main theme of the book is revealed when the main character, Marcellus, finds himself in possession of the robe of Jesus Christ. After touching Jesus’ robe, Marcellus was struck with a type of insanity. He did not understand why Jesus died; why a man so undeserving of death was killed in such a terrible way. The image so stuck with him that when he was with his friends and family, he would suddenly stop in mid-conversation and ask, “Were you there?” Of course, most of those he asked had no idea what he was talking about, and they attributed his question to madness. Marcellus truly felt made, and he was driven to action. He had to find out who Jesus was and where the robe came from, so he could be free of his trance. He traveled throughout Judea in order to discover the truth and free himself from his insanity. In his search, Marcellus finally saw Jesus for who he was; not just as the man who did not deserve death, but as the Son of God. Upon this realization, the insanity that gripped Marcellus was stripped away. He was left broken by the part he had played in the death of Jesus, but his brokenness led to his repentance and faith in Jesus Christ as his Savior.

Though no one is alive today that was “there,” yet we can search for and know the truth, just as Marcellus did. And in searching, so many souls have found the Son of God, and have turned from their insanity by the power of His blood. By God’s grace, I am counted in the number of the found, though I still search for Jesus every day, desiring to know His will and follow it with every fiber of my being. I am not finished running this race, but mostly because there are still so many souls that need to be saved. My life could be the beacon for someone who is now insane; lost without a master, without a King. My testimony is that I was just as lost as they, but I have been purchased and bought by Jesus; He is the Way. And though this race is not yet complete, I know the time is fast approaching where I must give account for my deeds; praying they withstand the heat. So I step into this furnace, but not alone, because my Savior stepped in before. He has paved the way for my redeemed soul, and now I have no choice but to go. I must proclaim that Jesus saves, because without Him, all souls will die insane.

Heaven Calls

April 24, 2013

I was silent. I did not defend My innocence.5
But I AM no fool; I was heaven sent.
I ran the race and have finished My course.
Though I suffered thirst and My voice was hoarse.3
No rest on earth I found, because I came to reign
Over this dead ground that must be born again.

I hung upon a cross, forsaken and alone;
Bruised, scarred, broken, and torn.
When I was accused, no friends were at My side. 10
Though I healed thousands, I was condemned to die.
But this is the course for which I was destined
I came to die, so that My children could reach Heaven.

To take a single breath pierces My body with pain
But there are Words I still have to say.
Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do!11
Though My life ends, it ends to make all things new!
But I lay down My own life; no one could take it from Me.
So that, by My sacrifice, millions may be set free.

Unless the world eats of My flesh and drinks of My blood
They will die in their sins, eternally separated from Love.12
But I came that sinners might have life, and life abundantly;13
No matter their transgressions, I can wash them clean.
If only I wash their feet, they will be cleansed indeed.14
But they must do the same as Me; the whole world is in need.15

Oh Abba, it is finished, My life I have not held back!3
I have obeyed You, and You know there is nothing that I lack.
Just as I lay down My life, I have the power to take it up again;
Rest assured to all My children that I conquer death and sin.16
Satan cannot keep Me down; I have witnessed his fall.
I reign victoriously, time without end…Heaven calls.17

The Spirit and the Bride say, “Come.” Let the one who hears say, “Come.” And let the one who is thirsty come; let the one who desires, take the Water of Life without price. (Revelation 22:17)

Turn to me and be saved, all the ends of the earth! For I am God, and there is no other. By Myself I have sworn; from My mouth has gone out in righteousness a word that shall not return: “To Me every knee shall bow and every tongue shall swear allegiance.” (Isaiah 45:22-23)

11406847_10206803440703113_8507726371502109677_n

Inspirations/References____________
1. Luke 22:42-44
2. Galatians 3:13
3. John 19:28-30
4. Hebrews 9:11-14
5. Isaiah 53:7
6. 1 Timothy 2:5-6
7. Matthew 21:44 and Luke 20:18
8. Isaiah 24:4-6
9. 1 Corinthians 15:55, Hosea 13:14
10. Mark 14:50, Mark 15:34, Matthew 27:46
11. Luke 23:34
12. John 6:48-58
13. John 10:10
14. John 13:10
15. John 13:14
16. John 10:17-18
17. Luke 1:32-33, Revelation 22:12-13

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and Wonder, Blind InsanityTags, , , , , , , , , , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Do You Hear Heaven Calling?”

Leave a Reply

