Not Sufficient

Words are not sufficient.

It’s like all the words in the world are thrown into the wind only to come back and slap the face of the one who spoke them. So, what is the point in releasing words when they are just ash in the wind? … I suppose the point is that someday those floating pieces of ash will settle down, become part of the ground, and change the face of the earth; for better or worse.

For worse… If enough poison is sown, it will eventually poison the ground, even if the winds denied it for a time. The only way to keep poison from soaking in is to continually weed, plant seeds, and water the ground. But when the ground has already been poisoned, it takes more than weeding, more than planting seeds, and more than water; the ground needs to be covered with fresh earth. I suppose that is why I cannot be silent, though it would be more comfortable to choose to be mute. If I am silent, the poison will spread and the earth will die without knowing what it means to bear fruit. Within myself, I do not hold the good soil and the tendency of my flesh is to let temptations choke out the truth, but the Word itself is sufficient to lay a firm foundation. And when it is necessary, that foundation can be built up again by that same Word.

For better… I speak of the Holy Bible: the inspired Word of our Creator God. All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:16-17) When God’s Word is spread and covers the earth, it changes the composition of the dust, leading lives to holiness and blessing. John 1:14 says, The Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen His glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth. On earth, Jesus was the Word made flesh, so the Word that I hold and the Word that I proclaim is a piece of Jesus that can be seen and felt.

I could still choose silence. I could choose to be complacent in order never to offend a single lost soul. But if I fear offending them, then I do not love them at all, because my silence would allow them to die in ignorance and to spend their eternity separated from God. What a tragic prospect; living in silence, when the spoken Word has the power to raise the dead and save the dying:

If I, the LORD, say to the wicked, ‘You will surely die,’ and you give him no warning, nor speak to warn the wicked from his wicked way in order to save his life, that wicked person will die for his iniquity, but his blood I will require at your hand. But if you warn the wicked, and he does not turn from his wickedness, or from his wicked way, he will die for his iniquity, but you will have delivered your soul.
Again, if a righteous person turns from his righteousness and commits injustice, and I lay a stumbling block before him, he will die. Because you have not warned him, he will die for his sin, and his righteous deeds that he has done will not be remembered, but his blood I will require at your hand. But if you warn the righteous person not to sin, and he does not sin, he will surely live, because he took warning, and you will have delivered your soul. (Ezekiel 3:18-21)

You see, I am commanded not to be silent by a power that is greater than gold, paper, appointments, and ballot boxes. I am commanded to shine God’s light into the darkness, to call out the wicked and point him to the cross, and to call out followers of Christ and encourage them to follow their first love.

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through Him. Whoever believes in Him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God. And this is the judgment: the light has come into the world, and people loved darkness rather than light because their works were evil. For everyone who does wicked things hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his works should be exposed. But whoever does what is true comes to the light, so that it may be clearly seen that his works have been carried out in God. (John 3:16-21)

So many people live in condemnation for their sins and unbelief, but in my house, on my phone, and in my heart lay the Words of Life, Love, Justice, and Truth.

Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved. How then will they call on Him in Whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in Him in Whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the Good News!” But they have not all obeyed the Gospel. For Isaiah says, “Lord, who has believed what he has heard from us?” So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ. (Romans 10:13-17)

As for you, brothers, do not grow weary in doing good. If anyone does not obey what we say in this letter, take note of that person, and have nothing to do with him, that he may be ashamed. Do not regard him as an enemy, but warn him as a brother. (2 Thessalonians 3:13-15)

All I can do is preach that Jesus lived, died, and rose again in order to save us from the sins that enslaved us. His Way is perfect, and we should be holy as the One Who called us is holy.

I believe on the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and look forward to a grand inheritance that I didn’t earn. And now, my Father and the giver of that inheritance calls me to speak… So, though words of men poison the earth, those words will ultimately be drowned out by truth, and the poison will be cast off like dross. But poison cannot be drowned out by silence or a doubting tongue.

I say this to myself as well as to any follower of Christ reading:

Speak forth God’s Word with power and authority.

He has given you His Good News to proclaim it to the lost, dead, and dying. 

Give no excuses to the Redeemer of your soul.

Let go of the world and the craving for acceptance and worldly success; realizing that gaining the world is not worth the loss of your soul or the loss of the souls around you.

Seek the LORD while He may be found; call upon Him while He is near. Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts. Let him return to the LORD, that He may have compassion on him; and to our God, for He will abundantly pardon. “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD. “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.
“For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven and do not return there but water the earth, making it bring forth and sprout, giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall My Word be that goes out from My mouth; it will not return to Me empty, but it will accomplish that which I purpose, and will succeed in the thing for which I sent it.” Amen! (Isaiah 55:6-11)

As for me... I will trust in God.
As for me… I will trust in God.
One thought on “Not Sufficient”

Leave a Reply

