A Ribbon’s Story

IMG_20150928_220000

I cannot pretend to have it all together. I am merely a ribbon attached to a book. I have no control that I should turn the page or even that I should stay. My whole life depends upon the hand holding the pen. It may be that I stay in pages of grace and light or find myself marking page after page of sadness. But the eventual fate of this ribbon is that it will rest on the last page.

Though I would want every page of my life to be full of peace and for sadness to be scarce, I have little control. But I trust the hand that writes my story, so I choose to rejoice, whatever comes. The pages will grow worn, brittle, and discolored with the passing of time, but those changes may serve as a refinement of the story rather than a sad part of it. No matter what happens in the pages to come, I will choose to see the blessings and the hand of the One writing my story.

Thank You, Jesus, that You are worthy of praise and are a faithful writer. You have already written Your story on my heart; for that, I am eternally indebted to You. The love that I have seen through the writing of Your hand, I cannot fully understand, but I want to spend the rest of my life diving into that mystery and drawing others like me into this adventure of love and grace. I am Yours, Lord. I am attached to this book of life within which You write. Help me to take joy in these pages and remember that the Author is faithful, just, loving, and kind. I do not deserve what He has done for me already. Thank You, Jesus. Amen.

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and Wonder, Let Your Light Shine Before Men...Tags, , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

