My Reasons to Humbly Rejoice

Since September 17th of this year, I have been writing daily in a little book I call, “My Reasons to Humbly Rejoice.” I started, because I had been wasting time, and so much more than time. But I thought that, if I stopped, for even just a minute a day, and wrote about one thing (or a few things) I was grateful for, then maybe my wasteful heart would change.

In this time, I have felt a change in me; a renewal of humility, spirit, and mind. I have been reminded daily to fix my eyes on Jesus, from whence my help and deliverance comes. (Psalm 121) And even on bad days, I have always found a reason to rejoice and be grateful; this was not because of me, but the Holy Spirit of Christ in me. He opened my eyes to see His blessings, and to see how I have never earned a single one of those blessings. All I can do in response is praise the name of Jesus and call on Him daily to help me continue to grow in Him and be used by Him.

My vision is still a little cloudy, due to things I like or think I need. I do not see as clearly as I hope, but my hope is alive (1 Peter 1), because I am growing, learning to trust, and learning to abide in my Abba.

My Teacher is patient, He is kind, He does not boast, and considers the thoughts of this frail heart. He is not annoyed by me or angry. He does not rejoice when I do wrong, but rejoices when I follow in His steps. He holds my hand, believes in me, hopes for me, and endures through my foolishness. My Teacher will never leave me, because He has no ending. (1 Corinthians 13)

My Teacher is Jesus. I love Him more than life. I love Him more and more every day. Thank You, Jesus, for being so good to me. May I live gratefully every day of my life, so that no pride or doubt within me would hide Your truth, love, and eternal faithfulness to me and all Your creation. Amen and Amen.

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and Wonder, Victorious StrugglesTags, , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “My Reasons to Humbly Rejoice”

Leave a Reply

