This I Know

Thunder, rain, crashing waves,
Bending, creaking, snapping wood.
This ship that holds my livelihood
Cannot withstand the coming flood.
Fear overwhelms my feeble heart,
Angered that He would let this start.
My hopes and dreams are going down.
Would He truly let me drown?

Through the stinging, blinding rain,
I could not see what was most plain.
The One Whom I most dearly loved,
Nothing disturbed Him, below or above.
He peacefully lay upon a bench,
Lost in sleep, taking peaceful breaths.
I cried out in my fear and woke Him:
“Surely we perish! Why are You sleeping?”

Not responding in kind, a gracious friend,
My Love stood and rebuked the wind.
Before His hands, the storm perished.
“Peace, be still;” by His voice vanquished.
“Why are you so fearful, O you of little faith?”
To My child, what is wind? What are waves?
Within My hands I hold the whole world;
How much less will I hold your soul?

“What manner of man is this
To rebuke such power without raising a fist?”
O me of such little faith!
I could not see my Saving Grace!
His head, hands, feet, side, and back
Were torn and pierced for my sins, so black.
By His blood, I am made white as snow.
Jesus loves me, this I know…

IMG_20160127_121413

Inspired by Mark 4:35-41

(Originally posted as my status on January 27, 2013)

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and Wonder, Blind Insanity, Victorious StrugglesTags, , 1 Comment

One thought on “This I Know”

Leave a Reply

