I Am Not Better

I am not better than him and I am not better than her.

I like to think that what I have learned makes me wise, but it is not what I learn, but Who I learn from that makes me wise.

Like a child, I sit attentively at the feet of Christ, desirous for His glory to shine through my life. I want to shine for Him, but pride prevents me. I become full of pride in “knowing things,” but knowledge, I have found, brings much weariness of the flesh. It makes me weary, because the burden of truth is pain; knowing why things happen and that you have no power to make it right. But it is this knowledge that compels me to live for Jesus, because He came to break the chains of sin and death. Though I may not see joy or peace on earth, I know that I still have victory on earth, and the best is yet to come. So, I cannot grow weary in well-doing, for that is the visible evidence of wisdom and the defeat of pride and sin; all made possible through Christ abiding in me.

Let us not grow weary in well doing, for in due season, we will reap, if we faint not. Galatians 6:9

As for you, brothers, do not grow weary in well-doing. 2 Thessalonians 3:13

For this is the will of God, that by doing good you should put to silence the ignorance of foolish people. 1 Peter 2:15

For it is better, if the will of God be so, that you suffer for well doing, rather than for evil doing. 1 Peter 3:17

Wherefore, let them that suffer according to the will of God, commit the keeping of their souls to Him in well doing, as unto a faithful Creator. 1 Peter 4:19

Dear Jesus, kill the pride in me. Draw me to my knees before Your thrown daily, that I would see who I am and who You are, and that that knowledge would transform my life into a living sacrifice for Your glory. Fill me with truth in all wisdom, being founded in Your eternally precious Word. In myself, I have not the strength or wisdom to serve You and do Your Kingdom work, yet You supply for my insufficiency, enabling me to praise You and love You as I should. You are so good to me, Abba. May I never claim anything good in me as coming from my own power, actions, or wisdom, but may I lay all honor, praise, and adoration at Your feet. My soul thirsts for You, O God, and I wait patiently for Your Kingdom come. I love You, Jesus. Amen.IMG_20160207_230634

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Victorious StrugglesTags, , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “I Am Not Better”

Leave a Reply

