On The Other Side

I want to fit in, fit into what? These molds are quickly shifting and turning into dust. For a moment, I make an effort to fit, but then I am rejected by those already within. So, I try to make my own mold and encourage others to follow, but the mold I built is soon empty and hollow. I can’t make up my mind to stay where I’m planted, drifting from this mold to that mold, taking life itself for granted. Finally, I get fed up with the nonsense and take a look in the mirror.

Outside the mold, things look a lot different. I have a face, hands, feet, and legs, and I can actually use them. But the mirror is dirty and has a couple scratches, so it can’t hope to reflect the one who stands in front of it. I try to wipe it clean, but I use dirty rags, so the image is made even more blurry. Eventually, I come to the conclusion that I cannot make this mirror clean, and I need someone else to do it. I look to this man or that man, but none can make the image clearer. Suddenly, one person gives the mirror a little shine and all I see is ugliness. This mirror has been warped to where cleanliness makes little difference; the mirror must be reshaped.

After seeing the truth, I finally submit to being reformed, and suddenly the mirror is crystal clear. My eyes have been opened to a forgotten truth; this mirror is nothing more than a dividing line, and the “image” on the other side is a beautiful, holy, and perfect life. I finally see staring back at me the eyes of a Man that I call my King. He remains perfect when I am not. My side gets a little dirty, but He reaches around to clean it up. He renews my perspective and keeps bringing me back, telling me to reject the molds, reject the mirrors, and find in Him what I lack. There is no other name given among men by which I must be saved; saved from death, saved from sin, and saved from the dirt and brokenness within.

The Man on the other side reveals truth behind the lies. He told me that molds are man-made, and never meant to last. Mirrors, too, will eventually smudge and crack. But life is not meant to be lived in molds or in front of mirrors, but inside the grace that makes everything clearer. I could look at a mirror, leave, and forget what I had seen, but this mirror walks with me, lives within me, and keeps bringing to mind what I would forget. This is not to say that the Man behind the glass lives in that place, He just allows me to look at Him and consider my ways. Do I take a step away from the glass with what I say or do? Perhaps. But like I said, the mirror goes with me and when I fall, a hand reaches through to pull me up.

For now, I live on this side of the mirror, never seeing perfectly what lies beyond. But the glimpses I do get keep me going and give me reason to walk on. And the Man behind the glass, Jesus Christ, the Alpha and Omega, the First and the Last, remains unchanged as I look at Him and He draws me on, further up and further in. Someday I will reach the other side, and I will be free of this torn, warped, and fragile life. Until that day comes, I look through the glass, and I walk toward it, knowing that my King is waiting and even clearing the way for my return. “Someday,” He says, “Someday for you is today with me. Watch, pray, wait patiently, and I will meet you in paradise. I’ll see you on the other side.”

Mirror
When the sky is gray, it sometimes feels like the world is upside down. But through the looking glass, you can almost see the world as it is meant to be: bright and full of life.

For now we see through a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then shall I know, even as also I am known. 1 Corinthians 13:12

But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord. 2 Corinthians 3:18

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and Wonder, Victorious StrugglesTags, , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “On The Other Side”

Leave a Reply

