Walk Until It’s Heaven

Lay Before the CrossToday marks the worst day in history; when mankind crucified their Creator.

In death, pain, and sorrow, the definition of love was unmistakably displayed.

God did not ask His followers to murder on His behalf; He was murdered on behalf of His followers.

On Good Friday around 2,000 years ago, the influential leaders of the age worked the people of Jerusalem into a frenzy, calling for the crucifixion of a truly innocent man, Jesus Christ. As He was struck with sticks, whipped, torn open, and mocked, they stood by and watched; thinking they were serving God in their brutality. Near the end, a crown of thorns was placed upon His head, and a royal robe placed upon His back. Yet, in all of this, Jesus did not say a word. He consented to the cruelty of men, knowing that His death had the power to absolve them of the guilt and shame that would come from knowing that they crucified their Saving Grace.

And when Jesus was come near, He beheld the city, and wept over it, saying, “If you had known, even you, at least in this your day, the things which belong unto your peace! But now they are hid from your eyes.” (Luke 19:41-42)

Days before His death, Jesus entered triumphantly into Jerusalem. The people cheered for Him and rejoiced at His coming, yet in that moment of exultation, He was overwhelmed with sorrow. He looked upon Jerusalem, saw their sin and how they were still wandering and blind to the truth of God’s plan, and He had compassion upon them. Though He knew what they would do to Him and what they had already done to the prophets who spoke of His coming, yet His love was steadfast. In the moment, He was surrounded by people who loved Him and they were crying out, “Blessed be the King that comes in the name of the Lord: peace in heaven, and glory in the highest!” (Luke 19:38) But Jesus knew that, in a matter of days, love would turn to hate, and those cries would turn to, “Crucify Him! Crucify Him!” (Luke 23:21)

In The Place of the Skull, Jesus was laid upon a cross. The treaty of peace between man and God was written with nails, signed with blood, and hung in place that all who pass by may see and consider.

He had no form or majesty that we should look at Him, and no beauty that we should desire Him. He was despised and rejected by men; a man of sorrows and acquainted with grief; and as One from whom men hide their faces. He was despised, and we esteemed Him not. Surely He has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows; yet we esteemed Him stricken, smitten by God, and afflicted. But He was pierced for our transgressions; He was crushed for our iniquities; upon Him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with His wounds we are healed. All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned – every one – to his own way; and the LORD has laid on Him the iniquity of us all. (Isaiah 53:2b-6)

My Jesus died that day; He committed His Spirit into the hand of His Father; and was laid down to rest in a new tomb.

Christ suffered for us, leaving us an example, that we should follow His steps. He did no sin, neither was guile found in his mouth; when He was reviled, He reviled not again; when He suffered, He threatened not; but committed Himself to Him Who judges righteously. He bare our sins in His own body on the tree, so that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness; by His stripes you were healed. For you were as sheep going astray, but are now returned unto the Shepherd and Bishop of your souls. (1 Peter 2:21b-25)

Today signifies a tragic end, but not the end of Jesus Christ; the end of the reign of sin and death. His wounds have healed the broken sinner, but it was not His blood that sealed salvation; what sealed salvation, hope, and life for all the lost and broken was Christ’s resurrection from the dead. The strongest efforts of men and hell could not stand against the King! He broke the chains that held Him down, claimed victory over the cruel serpent, and gives that same victory to all who believe on His name.

Though, I took advantage of grace,
Turned my face away,
And I denied my King;
One phrase from His lips shook my frame and melted this face of flint:
“Father, forgive them for they know not what they do.” (Luke 23:34)

By the grace of God, I stand here, forgiven! Today does signify the end, the end of my sin and shame; they were buried by my Savior’s grace! And just like my Savior, I have risen to new life; I am a new creation in Christ. No longer do the efforts and powers of darkness have a hold on me; I am free. I am free; no longer being bound to an old law that I had no strength to follow, but bound to the law of Christ, where He places His righteousness on me. I am free to live a holy life before my God, set apart for the intended purpose of all mankind; to worship and magnify the name of Yahweh, Who made us and loves us more than His own life. Amen!

Arise, My Soul, Arise

Arise, my soul, arise; shake off thy guilty fears;
The bleeding Sacrifice in my behalf appears:
Before the throne my Surety stands,
My name is written on His hands.

He ever lives above, for me to intercede;
His all redeeming love, His precious blood, to plead:
His blood atoned for all our race,
And sprinkles now the throne of grace.

Five bleeding wounds He bears; received on Calvary;
They pour effectual prayers; they strongly plead for me:
“Forgive him, O forgive,” they cry,
“Nor let that ransomed sinner die!”

The Father hears Him pray, His dear anointed One;
He cannot turn away, the presence of His Son;
His Spirit answers to the blood,
And tells me I am born of God.

My God is reconciled; His pardoning voice I hear:
He owns me for His child; I can no longer fear:
With confidence I now draw nigh,
And “Father, Abba, Father,” cry.

Charles Wesley

Walk Until It’s HeavenThe Sky of India

I will walk until it’s Heaven, though I stumble along The Way.
My banner has been lifted, and I raise my voice to pray,

Father, walk beside me, rebuke my doubting heart.
You supply for all my needs; Lord, wrap me in Your love.
Start a fire within my soul; may Your Word kindle it here.
Use me to tell the world their redemption draws near.

I will walk until it’s Heaven, though I stumble along The Way.
My banner has been lifted, with courageous voice, I say,

Jesus, Messiah, the lifter of my head,
I rest in Your love, and by Your Spirit I am led.
Your cross is before me, and the whole world behind.
I suffer for You, my King; Your name, I won’t deny.

I will walk until it’s Heaven, knowing You will show The Way.
I will keep my banner lifted and trust in what You say;

Come to me, all who are burdened, and I will give you rest.
In this world you will have tribulation, but I will see you in paradise.
Lay down all your sorrow, take up your cross and follow me.
I will bring you to tomorrow and fit you for the Heavenlies.

I will walk until it’s Heaven, knowing You will show The Way.
I will keep my banner lifted and trust in what You say!

Sarah Jo

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and WonderTags, , , , , , , , , , , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Walk Until It’s Heaven”

  1. Sarah Jo, you are a gifted writer. I love the poem. Thank you also for listing the hymn by Charles Wesley. I have spent nearly two decades studying and writing about the brothers Wesley. If you interest, please visit the website http://www.francisasburytriptych.com. There you will find numerous articles, pictures, videos, and podcasts about the early Methodist movement that men like Charles Wesley, John Wesley,and George Whitefield attached themselves to. In addition, you will find articles about the amazing women of God who alongside these men, ministered to 18th-century Great Britain. Lady Selina, the Countess of Huntingdon is one of my favorites. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

