Wait on the Lord

Wait on the Lord” was the first full song I ever posted to Facebook, and though the message is eternally beautiful, the song was born of sorrow. 

God led me to write that song the night I heard that a cousin of my mom’s had died too young, and not long after that, my Great Aunt died, as well. If my hope were here on earth, I would have given up long before such sorrows, but praise be to God that Jesus did not give up on me.

At that time, on that night, my Abba led me to Psalm 27.

In a life that is uncertain and full of pain and sorrows too numerous to count, hope is found in the Lord. By the grace of God, it is possible to see with our eyes, hear with our ears, and touch with our hands the immeasurable grace of God on earth. But true faith is not founded in the senses, it is tested and found true or false when darkness clouds the light and the battle continues in the mind and heart instead of the hands and feet. It is in those darkest hours that Jesus asks, “Do you love me?” Though we remain silent or only answer with tears and cries, God says, “I love you and always will. Trust in Me.”

Let not your heart be troubled: you believe in God, believe also in me… Peace I leave with you, My peace I give unto you: not as the world gives, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. (John 14:1, 27)

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? (Psalm 27:1)

As you face tests in the classroom, in the workplace, at home, or in any area of life, let the trying of your faith work patience, and let patience have her perfect work; restoring you to joy and faith in your Heavenly Father (read James 1 and Romans 5).

I’m praying for you, but it is a greater consolation to know that Jesus prayed for you while on earth and continues to intercede on your behalf even now; look to Him.

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Let Your Light Shine Before Men..., Victorious StrugglesTags, , , , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Wait on the Lord”

Leave a Reply

