It is Well With My Soul

_20160529_145133

Grandma told me that he could hear everything I said; he would not be able to respond, but hearing is the last thing to go.

Yet I still felt like I had no words to say.

Grandpa was lying there; a shadow of himself. I took his hand, and silently stood by his bedside, trying to think of something to say, but finding nothing to fill the silent space. Grandma told me to at least tell him that I love him. But I had not said anything yet, because I felt like saying, “I love you,” was not enough, but I said it anyway. And though grandpa was short of breath and his eyes could barely open, he smiled and quietly said, “I love you,” right back to me.

What a blessing it was to hear his voice and to know that he was happy to see me and just to have me there.

I continued to stand, with his hand in mine, praying that God would grant him a place in Heaven. As I stood and prayed, I felt God tug at my heart to sing “Amazing Grace,” but it seemed like He also said, “Just wait.”

When my older brother arrived, I took a step back to let him be by grandpa’s side. He asked if grandpa might like to hear some music. Both mom and grandma encouraged him to go ahead and get his guitar. I thought he would just play some instrumental pieces, but we started to sing worship songs right there in the hospital room; Romans 11, John 5:24, Wonderful, Merciful Savior, Great is Thy Faithfulness, Hosea 6:3, Psalm 55, Amazing Grace, It is Well With My Soul, and more.

To sing and worship with my brother, where grandpa and the rest of our family could hear, was an honor. I hoped it would bless grandpa and the rest of my family, but it was first a blessing to me.

Whenever I struggle to find words to say, whenever sorrow seems to outweigh hope, all I can ever think to do is worship. Worship places my focus where it should be; off of me and my troubles and onto the face of Jesus.

At first, I didn’t think I would be able to sing, at least not coherently, but God gave me the will to worship; He showed me that He was there in that room with us, and it was my duty and privilege to sound the trumpets as a sign that He was there and would never leave. My voice and John’s, along with the strings of a guitar, served as trumpets, and God was the band leader. When I could think of no words to say, worship of my King was enough, and more than enough. Worship invited God to speak, and hearts to bow, and, oh, how I felt His presence! Though I cannot say for certain where my grandpa is right now, the joy in his face as we sang lifted my heart in the hope that he was singing with us in his soul. But no matter his eternal destination, my life and the lives of my family are meant to be lived in worship.

During one of the songs, I felt something move my hair. I thought perhaps my sister-in-law had come behind me, but there was no one there. It was like God was saying to me, “I AM well pleased. Keep singing and rejoicing in Me.” So, we did, and though I saw many tears after each song we sang, I felt peace wash through the room, too. I don’t know if every heart there accepted the peace that Jesus gives, but the state of any heart and soul, other than mine, is not my burden to bear. All I have been called to do is praise my King and bring glory to His name. It is a gift from God that I can worship and point to the One True hope, life, and love, the One True God, the One Who brings His children home, the One Who loved unto the death, and loves for all of eternity; Jesus Christ.

I pray, Lord Jesus, that my grandpa is with You now, waiting for his children and grandchildren to meet him in paradise. Please dry the tears in his eyes, and may he find comfort from any guilt or pain in Your arms. May those he left behind rest in the knowledge that You are good, that You are God, that You are sovereign,  and that You love them dearly. We wait on You, oh Lord, and praise You for Your timing, for Your grace, and for the love You have already poured out on us these past few days. Amen.

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

 

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

4 thoughts on “It is Well With My Soul”

  1. The story of your family’s time of worship at your grandfather’s bedside was so sweet and inspiring to us. I plan to share it with our Sunday School class on Sunday. I’m glad you were able to spend that precious
    time with your grandpa.
    Roger and Gale

Leave a Reply

