I Will, By the Grace of God

O that they had such a heart in them; that they would fear Me, and keep all My commandments always; that it may be well with them and with their children forever! Deuteronomy 5:29

For the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to shew Himself strong in the behalf of those whose heart is completely His. 2 Chronicles 16:9a

Be not rash with your mouth, and let not your heart be quick to utter anything before God; for God is in heaven, and you upon the earth. Therefore, let your words be few. Ecclesiastes 5:2

Yesterday and today, God brought those three verses to my mind.

Why?

How do they connect?

One prayer I seem to say every day, in one form or another, is; “Dear Jesus, please reveal to me Your will for my life and give me courage to follow.” But I cannot say I have received any revelation of God’s perfect will for my life yet. I talk with Jesus daily, and I read what He has to say, and try to listen and absorb what He teaches; but I am a slow learner and I have poor retention, which are just a few reasons why I write. And as I write, the heart of the matter usually pops out to me, and today is no different.

In each of those verses, God addresses the heart of man.

The heart of man either fears God or runs after his own evil way.

The heart of man is perfect toward God or strays from Him to settle on lesser things.

The heart of man is patient with God and His plan, or jumps in, head first, without thinking to seek God’s will.

Those verses also address characteristics of God:

God is purposeful. His commands are given for a reason, not to torture us or destroy our lives, but to bless the faithful follower.

God is caring. He is eager to express His love and power within and through those who love Him.

God is all-knowing. It’s not up to man to question Him, only to trust that God is in Heaven, so He obviously knows far more about what He’s doing than a puny little ant ever could.

I guess what God seems to be saying to me through all those verses is to follow Him, trust Him, and wait on Him.

I may not have a five-year plan, but I know how to structure every year of my life; with God’s commands written on my heart, serving as a light before my feet and a guard against temptation.

I may be uncertain as to the next big step in my life, or if there will be anymore “big steps” in my life, but I trust that God will continue to show me amazing and radical love as I seek after Him with my whole heart.

I may be impatient and want to make “glorious” plans and designs of my own, but my heart will learn to wait on God’s timing.

Through each step of this journey, I have a faithful Teacher, Father, and Creator. And more than just what those three verses can tell, I have a faithful friend and Savior, Jesus Christ.

Through Christ, I will do incredible things.

Through Christ, this heart that would have stumbled, strayed, and fallen into quicksand, will stand tall, follow the straight and narrow, and faithfully consider the path ahead.

It is only by the grace of God that I can, and will, do anything. Jesus has saved me and called me His daughter; one who has been set apart, adopted, and made righteous. He alone has made me who I am, and He will complete the work He started. So, that is why I can say “I will,” because Jesus is my faithful witness, loving Father, strong Helper, and steadfast friend. He is awesome in every way, and always so good to me. Amen!

IMG_20160724_134608

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?… I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Wait on the LORD. Be of good courage, and He will strengthen your heart. Wait, I say, on the LORD. Psalm 27:1, 13-14

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Victorious StrugglesTags, , , , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “I Will, By the Grace of God”

Leave a Reply

