Vacations Don’t Last Forever

 

IMG_20160904_092513

Vacations don’t last forever. If they did, our world would be a disastrous place. There would be no homes to live in, no food to eat, no beds to sleep in, and no place worth going to. Basically, laziness is not all it’s cracked up to be. Yes, it is great to have breaks and days of rest, and the Lord knows that we need them, but we cannot live for rest, we must work the works of Him Who sent us as long as it is called, today. (John 9:4)

For the past month, all I have been thinking about is my vacation; finally being able to get away from all responsibility. What a selfish way of thinking! My life is not so hard as it feels at times. My greatest struggles are impatience and selfishness. The circumstances I find myself in are never responsible for my difficulties; it is all in how I live and how I think. Even if I should lose all I own, and my very life, it is of little consequence when I lose those things for the glory of Christ. It is for Jesus that I live, and it is for Him that I lay down my life and all that I hold dear.
Sometimes, I treasure comfort and unrealistic dreams above the plans God has for me. Within those things, I feel safe, as though I have control, but I am not God. I cannot gain comfort by my own strength and I cannot achieve contentment or fulfillment by wishing. No, every good thing and every right thing can only spring from one source, Jesus Christ, and His Holy Spirit within me.

Oh, God, I am not even close to being who You have called me to be, but I am submitting and waiting on You. And I am daily praying that You give me faith, faith to wait patiently and faith to live passionately. Time is not going to stand still for my leisure, it swiftly ticks on, but it is my choice how I spend it. So, help me to choose to spend it for Your glory, Jesus, and not my own. Rest is worthless if it takes precedence over renewal, refinement, and redemption. Please draw me nigh unto You, Abba. I love You; my heart bleeds for You, even as You have given me air to breathe and a reason to live. I am Yours, Jesus, do with me as You will. Amen.

And we desire each one of you to show the same earnestness to have the full assurance of hope until the end, so that you may not be sluggish, but imitators of those who through faith and patience inherit the promises. (Hebrews 6:11-12)

Leave a Reply

