No Longer Ashamed

i-am-not-ashamed2

Who I was, I don’t want to know.
So locked up in my shell of a soul.
I didn’t want to let anyone in,
And I did a good job of it.
I was comfortable in quietness,
I was at peace with silence.
But in that state of being,
My purpose was forsaken.

How can a light shine,
When it’s doused with dust and grime?
Oh, how my sins testified;
They told me I was worthless.
I would write about holiness,
Then go and keep on sinning.
But praise be to the Almighty God;
He broke this heart and filled it up.

Who I was: trying to climb out of a pit;
I was covered in dirt, and sinking swift.
Who I am: rescued and healed by Jesus;
He dove right in, lifted me out and up.
Now, the stars are beneath my feet,
No gravity of sin or shame can hold me.
This rescue does not make sense,
Yet I believe, and it is counted to me as righteousness.

When Jesus knocked, I let Him in,
And He found my heart cold and dim.
He breathed His Holy Spirit into me,
Swept up the cobwebs, and now holds the key.
My sins are no longer counted,
The scroll that held them has been buried.
The shame that once defined me,
Erased at the sound of, “It is finished.”

My Savior now holds this heart of mine,
And He perfects me as I wait and pray.
I am not ashamed of the Gospel of Jesus Christ,
It is life and breath to all who trust and obey.
Once, I was content to feed lust and carry shame,
But now I am incensed against what was killing me.
I want to see the world change its allegiance,
From death to life, from Satan to Jesus.

The world will change overnight,
When the stars fall, and spirits take flight.
Jesus will return as quickly as He left,
Like lightning, He will split the sky from east to west.
The humble will have bowed before He came,
The prideful will fall to their knees too late.
I write this to bring hope to life;
You’re not dead yet. Believe on Jesus Christ.

Honesty, humility, and patience are three of the most difficult virtues to practice and grasp; at least, that has been my experience. But I wanted to share this post with you as an example; I am not ashamed, because I am not who I was; praise the Lord!

If you have not been a Christian for very long, or you feel like you have just fallen too many times, I want to encourage you; when you commit your life to Christ, rest assured that He is working in you, and He will not allow to you drift out of the reach of His grace and redemptive power. God wants to use you today. So, whether you gave into temptation yesterday, last week, or today, Jesus is saying, “Take my hand, let Me pull you up.”

You don’t have to live in sin just because you feel like you have fallen too far. Jesus stooped low, He lived among us, washed our feet, and died for the sins that enslaved us; He stooped low, so that we might see how far He would go to win back His Bride. His life and His death showed that no one can fall too far to be saved, and that is the impossible, yet completely true, power of God’s grace. But do not use grace as an excuse for sin. Look into Jesus’ face, understand the price that He paid, and realize that you are bought with a great price. You have been redeemed from the former lusts that had you enslaved, so that you might live for your Savior, holy and set apart, a son or daughter of the King.

Now this I say and testify in the Lord, that you must no longer walk as the Gentiles do, in the futility of their minds. They are darkened in their understanding, alienated from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them, due to their blindness of heart. They are past feeling and have given themselves over unto sensuality, to work all uncleanness with greediness. But you have not so learned Christ! – If so be that you have heard Him, and have been taught by Him, as the truth is in Jesus, to put off the old man, which belongs to your former manner of life, which is corrupt according to the deceitful lusts; to be renewed in the spirit of your mind; and to put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness.
Therefore, putting away lying, speak every man truth with his neighbor; for we are members one of another. Be angry, and sin not; let not the sun go down upon your wrath and give no opportunity to the devil. Let him that stole steal no more, but rather let him labor, working with his hands the thing which is good, that he may have something to share with anyone in need. Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers. And grieve not the Holy Spirit of God, whereby you are sealed unto the day of redemption. Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamor, and evil speaking, be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake has forgiven you. (Ephesians 4:17-32)

According as His divine power has given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him that has called us to glory and virtue; by which are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises, so that by these you might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire. For this reason, give all diligence to add to your faith, virtue; and to virtue, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, patience; and to patience, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. For if these qualities be in you, and abound, they make you that you will neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But He that lacks these qualities is blind, and cannot see afar off, and has forgotten that he was purged from his old sins. Therefore, brothers [and sisters], give diligence to make your calling and election sure, for if you practice these qualities, you will never fall. For so an entrance shall be ministered unto you abundantly into the everlasting kingdom of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. (2 Peter 1:3-11)

Leave a Reply

