Even Me

img_20161019_210119

Surrounded on every side, naked before all eyes.
I had no place to hide. I was paralyzed.
My fear overwhelmed me. Through my tears, I could not see.
I braced myself for pain, for the end of my shame.
But I heard a voice say, “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.”
Then, there was silence; my accusers were dumb.
In that moment, I chanced to look up, and saw a man writing in the sand.
He did not look at me, but He seemed unconcerned.
When the silence persisted, I looked round and saw my accusers had gone.
Then, the man lifted up His head, and said, “Where are your accusers? Has no one condemned you?”
All I could say were three words, “No man, Lord.”
And He replied, “Neither do I condemn you; go, and sin no more.”

I was caught unaware; shocked at the mercy I was shown.
I was grateful for this second chance, though I deserved none.
The man writing in the sand, He wrote upon my heart.
He said, “I do not condemn you,” and if He does not, then who can?
There is none on earth who can touch me, but that man claimed me.
He said, “Go, and sin no more.” He knew the depth of my shame.
Yet He chose to forgive. He chose to let me live.
He called me out of sin, and all I could do was follow Him.
I found Him in a room full of my accusers,
But the tears I cried then were not like before.
My life was saved, and my Savior lay upon the floor.
I washed His feet, since none cared to stoop so low.
My gratefulness was salt, mixed with water, and precious perfume.

When I was lost in sin, that perfume was my greatest possession.
It was the one thing I felt could redeem me, and give life and death meaning,
But when Jesus chose to hold my heart, instead of crush it,
I saw that love for Him was worth more than anything I had been trusting.
I chose to believe on Him the day He saved me,
And I trusted that He, in His grace, eternally forgave me.
A weight was lifted from my shoulders that I had never lived without.
All my tiredness and shame were erased when I saw my Savior’s face.
The tears, like scales, washed away with the tide of grace;
They fell upon His feet, the best offering I could pour out.
He said that what I did would be a memorial of me throughout the world.
But I only washed my Savior’s feet; the smallest gesture of love.
All I did was shed tears for Him, because He forgave, He saved, and He loved…
Even me.

Words cannot express how grateful I am for Your grace,
That You would look upon me, while I had blood on my hands.
All of me was stained: arms, brow, legs, and back.
There was no part of me untainted; no part clean.
Yet You stooped low and washed me white as snow.
Jesus, I don’t understand why You love me, but I know You do,
Because I saw the blood that stained me cover You;
Upon your brow, your back, your feet, hands, and side.
At the thought, I cry tears of sorrow mixed with inexpressible joy;
Because You did die for me, but You also arose to give me victory.
Now, I am perfect, holy, and righteous in God’s sight,
Because I know You as Lord and Savior of my life.

Thank You for this chance to seek, find, love, and serve You.
You could have killed me on the spot when I was still stained,
But You showed mercy and told me to rise again and sin no more.
Give me strength to serve You and to be holy;
To proclaim to the world all that You have done and have yet to do.
Amen. Even so, come soon, Lord Jesus.

References/Inspirations

  1. Mark 14:3-9
  2. John 8:1-10
  3. Luke 7:36-50
  4. Ezekiel 16:8-9
  5. Revelation 22:20
  6. Today’s Testimony – Started by 1 Peter 1:18 (August 18, 2013)
  7. My Testimony (September 1, 2013)
  8. My Facebook status from September 30, 2011

Not too long ago, I wrote about how I have been “blooming lately;” growing in faith and love for my Savior, and in a passion to follow His Way. The poem you just read has been in the works for a while, having evolved from previous thoughts, and even some previous published works of mine.

My hope in sharing this with you is that you get just a small glimpse of how great the love of Jesus is; how He forgives and loves those who are least deserving. But since He forgives the least worthy (the least worthy being all of mankind), that should spur the forgiven to live that much more passionately for the Kingdom of Jesus Christ and according to His calling. That is not to say that all of a Christian’s sins are immediately put to death and they gain perfection upon conversion, but I am saying that sins should daily be put to death, and every Christian should live in the victory that comes through the power of the Holy Spirit dwelling within them.

Sins that once dragged the lost into death and self-destruction no longer have dominion over the forgiven and repentant soul. Live in newness of life. Even as Jesus washed you and forgave you, live in holiness and in complete adoration and love for Him. Let His Holy Spirit work within you and through you; producing fruits of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control (Galatians 5:22-23).

Leave a Reply

