The Greatest Gift

dsc_2513

Yesterday, I had my family Christmas:  the gifts, the food, the fellowship; great times.

As I look back on yesterday, and every day this year, I am in awe at the blessings I have been given. The gifts I received yesterday were wonderful and I am grateful, but I am not blessed by the things I possess; I am blessed by the God Who has saved me from my sin and called me His child. There is no greater blessing I have received than to be called righteous and daughter of the Living God.

I am His and He is mine.

The eternal and priceless blessings I received when I first believed, and every day since, are not of my own making. Jesus, the Creator of the world and lover of my soul, chose to step into mortal flesh and take on the sins of the whole world. His grace and love has cleansed me and bought me for a holy possession. Though we celebrate His birth today, I cannot help but remember the reason why He came. He did not come for the gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh, or even for the glory and acclaim due unto His name; He came to give His life as a ransom for many. Not only did He give His life by dying on a cross, but He took His own life back again, rising from the dead, to show that the same wondrous victory has been won for all those who believe on His name.

Jesus is the same, yesterday, today, and forever. He still calls the lost to be born again, and He desires to abide in them and they in Him.

Though it such a little thing, Lord, I commit my way to you today. Help me to die to self and sin and live for You. Remind me once again of the wonder of today, and every day, because You stooped so low to walk upon this dying ground. Thank You for bringing eternal life and hope with You, and thank You for leaving such wonderful gifts behind. I have been blessed so much on this earth, but the greatest blessing of my life will be to see You face to face. You are so good to me, and I pray You would reveal that goodness and love to so many today. For those in mourning today, please be their joy, strength, and courage. May all who call upon Your name be filled with wonder today and may that wonder transform into deeper faith that will carry them through into the Promised Land. Amen.

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Awe and WonderTags, , , , , , , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “The Greatest Gift”

Leave a Reply

