We Must Work

img_20161223_093521

Work… four little letters in a row. It’s what you do when you’re awake, even when you don’t seem to be doing anything. With every breath and every step you take, you are working for something or someone, but do you know what you’re working for? Are you working to put food on the table, to get by, to have a better life, to please someone, or to get the next gadget or upgrade? The truth is, you may be working for those things, but if those things are your ultimate goals, your work will not only feel empty, it will be empty.

I must work the works of Him Who sent me, while it is day; the night comes, when no man can work. John 9:4

If you are a follower of Christ, your home, school, gym, church, shopping center, and workplace are all included in your mission field. Learning to grow and bear fruit wherever you are planted is a calling that God has placed upon your life. You don’t have to take a plane, train, or automobile to get to your mission field; the harvest is ripe right before you! But there are so few laborers in this harvest.

As an ambassador for Christ, your work is never placed on pause. Coworkers, family members, teammates, friends, and total strangers: these are the ones Christ has called you to minister to. Maybe someday God will call you to serve Him on a foreign mission field, but if you are not content in the mission field where God has you now, then how do you expect to be content in some other country?

Near the end of November, I attended the memorial service of a brother who served the Lord well. He was very involved in the fellowship where God first called him and he had served alongside his wife in Peru for over 50 years. When they first asked to be sent to Peru, they were not sent out, and one reason was that their fellowship could not bear to be apart from them. A longtime friend of his, and a respected elder, made this statement about his friends’ ministry; “If you’re planning to go to a foreign mission field, but you would not create a hole in your current church home by leaving, then you are not ready for the mission field.” God gives His children opportunities to grow and minister wherever He plants them. So, even in the waiting, don’t waste a single opportunity that God has given you.

In my pursuit of God’s will for my life, I find that I must daily ask myself two questions; am I listening to the message God is sending and am I truly willing to answer His call? Stepping into unfamiliar territory can be a terrifying thing, but so can staying in one place. When I trust Jesus and remember the truth that He knows what’s best for me, then neither the unknown nor the mundane hold any terror. My Abba is faithful, just, and far more knowledgeable than I. He knows what will come and what will not, and I can rest assured of at least one thing in my future; that I will see Jesus face to face. And when I stand before Him, I do not want to be ashamed. While I live, I want to take every opportunity that He gives to work for His glory and the furtherance of His Kingdom.

Since we must work, let us choose to work for the One Who gives salvation freely to those who ask it of Him. Let us choose to work for the One Who makes our work mean something. Let us choose to work for Jesus, serving as His ambassador and servant, because He is worthy to be served, praised, and worshiped; because, even though we are His servants, He prefers to call us His sons and daughters.

For he that is called in the Lord, being a servant, is the Lord’s freeman. Likewise also, he that is called, being free, is Christ’s servant. You are bought with a price; be not the servants of men [or sin]. Brethren, let every man, wherein he is called, therein abide with God. Amen. 1 Corinthians 7:22-24

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Let Your Light Shine Before Men...Tags, , , , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

