Take Flight

 

 

take-flight

This week, a sort of crazy, sort of completely sensible idea popped into my head. I won’t tell you what the idea is until it fully materializes or completely disappears, but I will tell you about something that has been weighing on my mind for a while: flight.

I have this itch to get away from all that is normal and discover something completely new. That may require actually flying, going on a little drive, or just having the courage to step through a door not too far away.

Sometimes, it feels like I live in a bubble. Whether I am walking, running, or sitting down, I live my life inside this bubble, like a hamster in a little ball. My world has walls that I have bumped into once or twice, so I learned to run in a circle so that things seem to change, but I never actually leave my familiar space. I would like to break out of this little Plexiglas cage and run underneath the door and out into the world, but fear seems to always stuff a fist in my throat: how much will this “adventure” cost me? Should I really ignore the status quo and what people consider normal or practical? What will my family think? Will people’s perceptions of me change in a negative way?

Well, I could choose to fear the price of adventure and the perceptions of those around me, or I could choose to trust my God Who provides and allow His will to direct me. Personally, I feel far more confident with Jesus as my GPS than the wavering opinions of man and the balance of a checking account.

I have not yet paid for a ticket or planned my preferred route, but I figure one of two things will happen this year; either I will grow stagnant and let fear define my life or I will take flight with Jesus as my banner and courage as my heart’s cry.

At the close of this year, I would like to be able to write that I took the latter path; that I chose to take flight.

Have you not known, have you not heard, that the everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth, faints not, neither is weary? There is no searching of his understanding. He gives power to the faint; and to them that have no might, He increases strength. Even the youths will faint and be weary, and the young men will utterly fall.
But they that wait upon the LORD will renew their strength. They will mount up with wings as eagles; they will run and not grow weary; and they will walk and not faint. Isaiah 40:28-31

To Fly

I wonder what it would be like to be a bird;
To experience the glorious purpose that wings serve;
To soar above as an observer of the troubles of this world.
My beautiful songs would calm strained hearts and souls;
My beautiful colors, a sharp contrast to the pressures of life.
I would be drawn to the beauty of flowers basking in light.
I would make my home in a tree, steadfast through day and night.
I would draw my food from the ground and snatch it from the skies.
My greatest joy and triumph would be teaching my children to fly.

No rain too hard, no wind too strong.
The tree, my home, would hold me down.
Each year, I would follow the way to warmth and safety.
And I would never face the world without a friend.

Oh, to sing a song of beauty, to praise those gone before me.
To the glory of the One who formed me along with all I see.

Why would I need to live life as a bird
When as a human, the same purpose serve?
To not be dragged down to a world of sin.
To sing God’s Words to bring life and hope in.
To stand out as an ensign of a life with Christ.
To love those who God has placed in my life.
To be content in whatever home I live, not trusting sight.
To want naught but the providence of Christ my God.
To thrive upon shedding Christ’s light on this dark sod.

No fear or reason to doubt my foundation
With Christ, my home, I have found my true nation.
Each day, He shows me the Way through His Word.
And by His grace, this world can do me no hurt.

So, today I sing a song of beauty, to the joy of Saints gone before me;
To the glory of Emmanuel; my Savior who formed me along with all I see.

(Poem originally posted on December 6, 2010)
Leave a Reply

