A Shipwrecked Life

Shipwreck

As I was driving to my parent’s house this last Sunday, I came upon a radio sermon given by Ravi Zacharias.

To be honest, I don’t listen to many sermons on the radio; or to talk radio, in general. If I hear anyone talking on the radio, I usually change the channel within two seconds, but I decided to stick it out.

Ravi was talking about how successful businessmen throughout the world would ask him relatively the same question. Though I cannot remember the question verbatim, I think it went something like this; “How can I ensure that my life makes an impact and not give into the manifold temptations I face every day?”

In illustrating his response to this question, Ravi shared a little bit on the life of Solomon.

Solomon had everything a person could ever want and he had such great wisdom that he was known throughout the whole world. And yet, for all his blessings, he fell so far and so hard for the same things he had warned against in his writings.

For when Solomon was old, his wives turned away his heart after other gods, and his heart was not wholly true to the Lord his God, as was the heart of David his father. For Solomon went after Ashtoreth the goddess of the Sidonians, and after Milcom the abomination of the Ammonites. So Solomon did what was evil in the sight of the Lord and did not wholly follow the Lord, as David his father had done.1 Kings 11:4–6

Ravi summed up Solomon’s life in this phrase: “Knowing the answers does not guarantee the end result.”

Solomon forgot everything God taught him and everything he wrote with his own hand and spoke with his own mouth. He knew all the right words to say, yet his life ended in shipwreck. He forgot the God Who gave him every good thing.

If Solomon, who was the wisest of all men, could make a total shipwreck of his life, who am I to think my life could not end up the same way? And it is not just Solomon’s life that makes me step back and consider my walk, but I have seen so many, supposedly strong, Christian leaders fall from grace.

I am not Solomon, nor do I have the influence and popularity of Christian leaders of this age, but I do have God’s Word at my fingertips and I write about His truth on a daily basis. I preach to myself and to others, and just like Solomon, I do not always listen to what I preach. There was one point in my life where I was so frustrated with falling into sin, and not listening to God’s wisdom coming through my own fingers, that I had to write about it. When I tried to find the post I wrote, so I could share it here, I found that the theme of frustration with self and sin seems to run through a lot of my writings. There is no way I could say that only one post was the “turning point” in my walk of personal accountability, where I finally decided to listen when God speaks and retain what He teaches.

Every post has been a step of faith; growing in grace and reflecting that grace in every paragraph.

Without Jesus in my life, I would be blind and insane, and one small taste of God’s grace and wisdom is not enough to sustain me for a week, a day, or even for a couple of hours. In other words, I cannot stop writing, seeking, praying, and learning.

The only way for me to keep from making a shipwreck of my life is to seek Jesus daily; to allow Him to have the mastery in my life. I am reminded of the section in James 3, where God talks about how words can both bless and curse, and how no man can tame the tongue. It is so true that no man can tame the tongue, achieve righteousness and wisdom, or do what is right. But with Jehovah, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit (water, blood, and spirit), such things are possible.

Who is he that overcomes the world, but he that believes that Jesus is the Son of God?1 John 5:5

Only Jesus can keep me from corruption and hold me fast when my world tumbles. That is why I need to be learning from Him on an hourly basis; bowing before Him and humbly seeking His will.

I can have all the answers stored up in my blog, but if I don’t daily read God’s Word, use the gifts He has given, and allow His Spirit to work in my life, then what I preach will never be reflected or exemplified within my own life.

For the kingdom of God is not in word, but in power.1 Corinthians 4:20

I need a daily and hourly dose of the power of God, and I need to allow that power to flow through me; not quenching the Spirit, but letting Him do His work. By God’s grace, every time I read God’s Word and every time I write what He is teaching me, I am being lead into all truth. In Ecclesiastes, Solomon wrote that much study brings weariness of the flesh, but I would rather be weary in the flesh than weary in the spirit.

I don’t know all the answers, but I know the One Who does, and only He can keep this ship afloat. But I have learned that a boat is not always required to get from one side to the other. My Abba is not hindered by the elements of this world; He is master of them all. That is not to say that the waves are not scary or that life is not wearisome, but I trust in Jesus, I rest in His presence, and I pray daily for His direction in my life.

This ship has one Captain, and I know that no storm can shake me and no wave overwhelm me, because my Captain is Jesus Christ the righteous.

If you have questions or topics you want me to write about, or you just want to chat, then send me an email or post a message on any of my pages.

Email: blindinsanityblog@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/blindinsanityblog/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sarahjozech4.6/

Published by: Sarah Jo

Growing up is a taxing process (sometimes, literally), but I have chosen to grow in Christ and in His grace. He is so faithful to me and I have no room to complain, so I seek to show my gratitude through writing blog posts and songs, and speaking forth my gratitude in front of coworkers, friends, family, and total strangers. I am a little lost, but completely found; a child in the faith, and taking huge steps. I have so much to learn, but the point is that I will get there by the grace of my Abba.

Categories Blind Insanity, Victorious StrugglesTags, , , , , , , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “A Shipwrecked Life”

  1. Great post! Also, when you mentioned that God is our Captain it reminded me of the Hillsong song titled, “Captain.” I love the fact that we don’t need to know all the answers since Jesus holds it all! Yielding to the Spirit is so detrimental to our spiritual health and it’s so refreshing every time you get to sit down and enjoy of the Daily Bread. God is so good!

Leave a Reply

