What Timeline?

No Time

It’s sort of funny how people have their timelines. From a young age, they have it all planned out at what age they will finish college, get married, buy a house, have their first kid, and even retire.

I have never been one who plans far in advance. Even planning a couple months in advance is a stretch for me.

The reason I don’t plan too far ahead mostly comes from James 4; Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” (13-15) Another reason I don’t plan ahead is because I strive not to argue with God. Just because I have a really good idea and think it would be the best thing for me does not mean that God thinks the same. So, when my plans go awry, I don’t want to say, “But, God, my plan was so much better!” Reality check; my plans are not better, my plans are short-sighted.  And no matter what I think or plan, God has the ultimate say.

I read a post a while back where a young woman told how she picked her wedding day when she was just a little kid. That wedding day came and went and there was not even a possible groom on the horizon. It’s pretty easy to look back at our younger selves and laugh at all the preposterous ideas we had. Hey, when I was eight, I said to my family, “When I was 16, I had a pink corvette.” That totally did not happen; I didn’t even have a pink corvette hot wheel. But there are some people who don’t grow out of the impossible dream stage.

I don’t understand why people think they can plan out their lives and have everything go exactly as they planned. If they find themselves disappointed or depressed, they definitely can’t blame God; it’s just because they got caught up in their own plans and not caught up in the arms of their Savior.

There are not many prophets on earth today. They may have “prophet” attached to their name, but that does not make them messengers of God or people that can see the future. Fortune tellers or palm readers cannot tell you your future. They can give vague references that would most likely happen to anyone, but they have no power to know your future or define it.

Some people look to horoscopes as entertainment, and some people take that stuff seriously, but reading your horoscope is just opening the door to idols, where your heart is tilted to listen to idols over the voice of God. If God wants you to know something about your future, you’re not going to find it in your horoscope, and you can’t treat the Holy Bible like it is a horoscope, either. God guides your steps through the unchanging truth of His Word and the agreement of the Holy Spirit; He doesn’t operate in the twilight zone and He is not a matchmaker.

If you want a religion that is easy, magical, and full of empty promises, Christianity is not the religion for you. But if you want a religion that brings life, preaches truth, and gives real healing to a hurting world, Christianity is the only religion for you.

You cannot tell the future, and your plans will often fall short, but you can pray for the best and live for your King no matter what the future brings.

Don’t think I’m just preaching… This message is for me, too. I know I am exactly where God wants me to be and who He wants me to be. But I am determined to not become stagnant. I am determined to keep walking with my Savior, learning from Him and doing what He commands. On this walk, I am going to cry, I am not going to understand, and I will probably feel totally lost and far behind at times, but my Abba never leaves my side and His timeline is full of grace and personal growth.

As I sat in a room full of young staff girls for the past two nights, it struck me how blessed I am. Most women my age are in the work force far away from Bible camp, or they have children to take care of or husbands to think about. In this stage of my life, my responsibilities are few. I work full time, which is my only obligation, besides taking care of a few crazy cats. I love to spend time with family and friends, but I can choose whether to spend time with them or to spend time with myself and Jesus. I don’t have to consult anyone about my plans.

Marriage is not a bad thing, nor is a job far away from where you grew up; I am just saying that I am content where God has me, and I am grateful for all the opportunities He has given me. There is no need for me to hope for anything else other than more of Jesus and less of me. And no matter where I am in the timeline of life, I want to say that I hope for nothing else other than more of Jesus and less of me.

No matter where you are in your timeline of life, know that you are right where you should be in God’s design. Don’t let your dreams take precedence over the glory of God and faith in Him. Know that God does not bring suffering and pain into your life, but you better believe He can use those things for His glory and for your eternal benefit. Ignore the timelines and don’t put so much weight in plans. Trust in God, your Heavenly Father; He is far better to His children than they will ever comprehend.

If you have questions or topics you want me to write about, or you just want to chat, then send me an email or post a message on any of my pages.

Email: blindinsanityblog@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/blindinsanityblog/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sarahjozech4.6/

Leave a Reply

