My Creed

The holy Bible

What is my Creed?

What do I live by and seek to live up to?

About five years ago, I wrote a personal creed, but when I look back at it now, I see that it is less like a creed and more like a prayer and a statement of God’s faithfulness.

My Creed and Cry
My love for Jesus surpasses all.
I raise those up who can barely crawl.
My power comes from God above,
And by this power I live and love.
My heart is pure and full of might,
Wholly seeking God’s guiding Light.

In my weakness, God will be my strength.
His love for me has immeasurable length.
I can look to Him, so perfect in holiness,
For wisdom to take the path of righteousness.
On this path of life, love, and redemption,
Jesus, please lead me in Your plan of salvation.

The first stanza seems to hold little grace and no room for error. If my creed consisted of those six lines, I would have been condemned already. But when put in context with the second stanza, the first stanza becomes a statement of faith in the God that can do all things.

In and of myself, I cannot measure up to any semblance of perfection, but God is strong in my weaknesses, and His love and grace is more than enough to cover my imperfections. He is the only example of perfection I look to and the greatest hope I cling to.

Ultimately, I want to live by the authority of the Holy Bible, the written manifestation of Jesus Christ, and live up to the standard of righteousness made attainable through the power of the Holy Spirit.

It is difficult to fit the pursuit of life into two stanzas, or even into 66 books.

Getting everything right is impossible, no matter how much effort we put in. But it is in that expanse between us and God that faith and grace spin a heavenly dance.

Together, they work to bring a soul to Heaven’s gates. If they are apart, then a soul may be torn apart before it reaches Heaven. Faith produces fruits of the Spirit that multiply to glorify the Father, and grace abounds in all things, because our works can never be enough. Yet it is impossible to have faith without works or works without faith.

Faith without works shows no evidence of the Holy Spirit working within you or of salvation from the power of sin. Works without faith are devoid of eternal worth, since only grace, made manifest through faith, can bring a sinner safely to the throne.

If you are a Christian without a personal creed, I do not condemn you. When you reach Heaven’s gates, you will not be required to recite a creed in order to enter.

However, if you are a Christian, but you don’t seek to live by the authority of the Holy Bible and live up to the standard of righteousness made attainable through the power of the Holy Spirit, then where is your faith?

What works do you have to show your faith?

What is it that you believe in that redeems your soul from death and transforms it into a vessel that brings glory to the lover of your soul? When you reach Heaven’s gates, no one will ask you any questions; the Keeper of the gate will either know you or not.

Either He will let you in, because you walked and talked with Him, and followed Him on earth, or He will turn you away, because you refused to believe in, follow Him, or accept the grace He so freely gave.

By sharing my creed with you, I am not boasting. When I share anything on this blog, I am not boasting. My creed, what I write, and the life I live is Christ’s; all for Him and for the glory of His name. If I have done anything good, it is Christ in me. If I have done anything evil, it is because I have not submitted to my Father, and often, He reveals His truth and grace through my mistakes, which I share on this blog. I have no room for boasting, unless I boast in Christ. And I cannot be silent when it comes to boasting in Jesus, because too many people live a lost eternity, and He is their only hope. (Galatians 6:14)

I cannot force you to believe in Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior. All I can do is share with you what He has taught me, and encourage you to seek Him. And I cannot paint a pretty picture of Christianity. Most Christians are a mess, and if they tell you they are not a mess, then you should ask them why… As for me, I know I am a mess, but for some reason, God calls me His mess. Only, He doesn’t call me a “mess,” He calls me, precious.

So often, I am overwhelmed by the wondrous grace that would call a beggar a child of the King. I cannot profess to understand it, but I do profess to believe it.

This is the faith on which I stand, that Jesus Christ is the Son of God. He is also the Lord of my life, because His blood has washed away the stains of my sin and His Holy Spirit now dwells within me.

I pray that you, too, will be overwhelmed by the grace of God and believe the truth that you are so deeply loved.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. The same was in the beginning with God. All things were made by Him, and without Him was not anything made that was made. In Him was life, and the life was the light of men.John 1:1-4

Inspirations:

My Creed and Cry

Line 1: Romans 12:1-2; I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds, that you may prove what is the good, acceptable, and perfect will of God.

Line 2: Luke 10:30-35; And Jesus answering said, “A certain man went down from Jerusalem to Jericho, and fell among thieves, which stripped him of his raiment, and wounded him, and departed, leaving him half dead. And by chance there came down a certain priest that way: and when he saw him, he passed by on the other side. And likewise a Levite, when he was at the place, came and looked on him, and passed by on the other side. But a certain Samaritan, as he journeyed, came where he was: and when he saw him, he had compassion on him, And went to him, and bound up his wounds, pouring in oil and wine, and set him on his own beast, and brought him to an inn, and took care of him. And on the morrow when he departed, he took out two pence, and gave them to the host, and said unto him, ‘Take care of him; and whatsoever you spend more, when I come again, I will repay you.’”

Line 3-4: Philippians 2:13; For it is God which work in you both to will and to do of His good pleasure. Colossians 3:17; And whatsoever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

Line 5-6: Psalm 51:10-12; Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from Your presence, and take not Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of Your salvation, and uphold me with Your free spirit.

Line 7: 2 Corinthians 12:9-10; And He said unto me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

Line 8: Psalm 103:11; For as the heaven is high above the earth, so great is God’s mercy toward those who fear
Him.

Line 9-12: Isaiah 64:4; For since the beginning of the world, men have not heard, nor perceived by the ear, neither has the eye seen, O God, beside You, what God has prepared for those who wait on Him.

Leave a Reply

