A Little About Marriage

Mawwage is what bwings us togeva today. Mawwage, that bwessed eventa; that dveam wivin a dweam.” (Priest in “The Princess Bride”)

Marriage can be loads of fun.

It’s great to come home to the one you love; to be able to say, “Goodnight, I love you,” and not, “Goodnight, I love you. I’ll see you tomorrow! Drive safe!”

Weekends are especially great, because there’s usually not so much pressure to get to bed by a certain time and you can just enjoy time with your best friend. Dates are a common occurrence, and it can even feel like you’re on a date every night!

Well, marriage changes when you have a baby (to state the obvious). Even though the routines and norms of marriage aren’t what they used to be, it is so great to be a mom; to watch a blended picture of my husband and I grow, learn, and become the man he is meant to become.

So, though I feel pressure to always get to bed at a certain time, since sleeping in is not an option, I’m grateful for the extra encouragement to get my rest and wake up at a decent time. Though we don’t have date nights at home anymore, it’s so sweet to get to play with our son, see him experience new foods, and maybe even enjoy a kid-safe movie or show with him. Yes, our son has changed the routines we follow, but where there was just romance and a kind of lazy comfort, there is now a greater intimacy and times of intentional rest.

Our conversations are deeper and more meaningful, our pursuit of Christ together is more intentional and beautiful, and since we cherish our times of rest more, we don’t waste so much time on our phones before bed… Now, do phones and tiredness still interfere with that intimacy? Yes. But what I love is hearing my husband pray for the same things I pray for; to grow into the spouse and parent I need to be and to grow in my love and pursuit of God and His Word. I know that God listens to our prayers, because I’ve seen Him answer.

God’s Word has become more precious to us as a couple, and we have been able to exhort each other in Him through the reading of His Word and through prayer. When we were first married, I didn’t think we would have this kind of Bible study together, just because of our different learning styles, but I’m glad God answered prayer and exceeded our earthly expectations.

Marriage is not always easy. Grace must abound on all sides for it to work, but it is such a gift and I will always glorify God for what He has done in bringing us together.

If you are single and long to be married, pray that God gives you and your future spouse eyes of grace, and trust in God’s timing. Rest in the knowledge that your Heavenly Father has the best plan for you and He will never tell you to settle for someone who does not live in submission to Him.

If you are married and you want a better marriage, pray for more of Jesus and His truth to flow into your marriage, and let it start with you, even if you feel like you’re starting alone. God will bless those who desire Him and may He answer the purest desires of your heart.

Thank You, Jesus, for creating marriage and calling it good. Thank You for enabling Your children to have good marriages and serve You strongly within marriage or singleness. You are such a great Teacher and Giver of grace. We rely on You at all times for all things, and we know You will give us the purest desires of our hearts. May our desires align with Yours and may we ever submit to Your will. Amen.

He that has the bride is the bridegroom: but the friend of the bridegroom, which stands and hears him, rejoices greatly because of the bridegroom’s voice: this my joy therefore is fulfilled. He must increase, but I must decrease.” (John‬ ‭3:29‭-‬30‬)

Marriage
By Sarah Jo

Marriage binds two hearts together;
A man and a woman, never to sever;
Reshapes those who truly commit;
Refines them through thin and thick;
Increases love, joy, and stability;
Accepts change and embraces adversity;
Gives an example of Christ and His Bride;
Embraces sacrifice to bring joy and life.

If you have questions or topics you want me to write about, or you just want to chat, send me an email or post a message on any of my pages.

Email: blindinsanityblog@gmail.com

Facebook: Blind Insanity Blog

Instagram: SarahJoZech4.6

Leave a comment